News Header Image


EU Sustainable Energy Awards

Wednesday, 14 February 2018

Europe-wide award programme for sustainable energy projects is open of applications. The awards aim to showcase outstanding projects with proven results and a high replication potential.

Objectives of Fund

The aim of the Awards is to collect and showcase outstanding projects with a high impact and replication potential.

Winners are announced as part of the EU Sustainable Energy Week which attracts media interest from across Europe.

Previous Success

2017 Winners
•Consumer Category: Home Energy Saving Kit by Codema (Dublin).
•Public Sector Category: SINBIO – Sustainable Innovation in Bioenergy (Slovakia).
•Energy Islands Category and Citizens’ Award: Tilos Island (Greece).
•Public Sector Category: CELSIUS - Smart District Energy.

2016 Winners
•Consumers Prize - EcoGrid EU project by Østkraft (Norway/Denmark).
•Public Sector Prize - Sustainable-energy transformation, Municipality of Pokupsko (Croatia).
•Businesses Prize - Green Brewery Göss, Brau Union Österreich (Austria).
•Citizens Prize (decided by a public vote) - Green Brewery Göss, Brau Union Österreich (Austria).

Further details of all the winning projects can be found on the Award website.

Value Notes

The awards offer no monetary prize, but allow organisations to demonstrate commitment towards a cleaner environment, inspire others and be recognised at European level.

Nominees and winners will benefit from communications support and increased visibility to stakeholders, the press and the general public.

Who Can Apply

A wide range of organisations are eligible to apply including private companies, public authorities, energy agencies, NGO’s, cooperatives, chambers of commerce, industry and consumers associations, media, academic institutions and research and technological centres.

Nominated activities, projects and actions must be ongoing, or not concluded before 30 June 2018, and carried out within the EU28.


The following are ineligble:
•Research and Development (R&D) projects and products.
•Projects which are still at the planning stage or not yet fully operational.
•Academic studies and theoretical research projects without any long-term, real-scale application directly linked to renewable energy or energy efficiency.

Award Categories

Awards are available in the following categories:
•Public sector.
•Energy Islands.
•Citizens’ Award.

Applications can be submitted in the first four categories. The Citizens’ Award will be granted via an online vote allowing the general public to reward their favourite project among the finalists of the four other categories.

How To Apply

Applications are made online. Applicants may either nominate an energy champion, or apply themselves.

Deadline for applications is 23 February 2018.

Article From: Kirklees 4 Business | Open 4 business

Designed by Kirklees Council
Built and powered by Alcium Software
Close cookie policy popup window
This site uses cookies for analysis purposes only. This helps us understand how you and other visitors use our site. To see a complete list of these cookies or to opt out please access our cookie policy page.

You will see this message only once, but you will be able to find more information about our use of cookies or opt out at any time.